Young Leaders Collect for the Win!

Series: Questions & Answers

30 May 2019

What would become of foundations and charities without the unwavering support of the business community, which is, like the rest of the population, aging. Fortunately, the younger generation is eager to get involved and find creative ways to raise money. We met with co-presidents of the CHU Sainte-Justine Foundation’s Urban Duathlon, who both give their time, sweat and money to the cause!

On the line, Kasandra Côté, senior manager, Canadian corporate tax at KPMG, and Marc-André Nantais, associate portfolio manager at Jarilowsky Fraser Limited, are very excited. In less than 24 hours, they will wake up at the crack of dawn to help organize, and participate in, the ninth edition of the Urban Duathlon for the CHU Sainte-Justine Centre of Excellence in Neonatology. An event they’ve been organizing for months.

In your opinion, do young leaders have the responsibility to get involved in foundations and charities?

Kasandre Côté: “Not only should they do it, doing so is imperative for the survival of organizations and it’s in their best interest! As co-presidents, Marc-André and I have have experienced exceptional leadership opportunities that translate to our professional lives. Not to mention, it feels great!”

Marc-André Nantais: “Especially since the income to governments related to active workers will decline over the next 20 years. As a result, the amount of financial aid reserved for organizations will be smaller. And needs, will only go up. The manpower will therefore need to come from private groups. If younger generations of leaders don’t want to see their taxes increase, they must give back, get involved in fundraising and make a difference in their communities.”

DanièleHenkel.tv

In your opinion, do young leaders have the responsibility to get involved in foundations and charities?

K.C.: “Not only should they do it, doing so is imperative for the survival of organizations and it’s in their best interest! As co-presidents, Marc-André and I have have experienced exceptional leadership opportunities that translate to our professional lives. Not to mention, it feels great!”

M-A.N .: “Especially since the income to governments related to active workers will decline over the next 20 years. As a result, the amount of financial aid reserved for organizations will be smaller. And needs, will only go up. The manpower will therefore need to come from private groups. If younger generations of leaders don’t want to see their taxes increase, they must give back, get involved in fundraising and make a difference in their communities.”

Are younger generations sufficiently mobilized?

K.C .: “Marc-André and I are surrounded by young leaders who are driven, and who invest themselves fully, body and soul, in different organizations. It’s impressive!”

M.-A.N .: “The younger generations want to be heard. They’ve understood, that in order to change things they needed to act, especially when it comes to education and the environment. They may be less engaged politically, but they find other ways to get involved. Organizations need to be able to follow the trend and adapt to them. My generation of leaders must succeed in mobilizing future leaders, since they will be filling our shoes in 10 years.”

Kasandra Côté (bottom right) poses with KPMG teams who participated in the Duathlon in 2018.

Do you have to be creative to raise the money required year after year and to create events that are always more enticing?

 

K.C .: “The rules of the game have changed. Before, everyone called everyone to raise money. Today, companies choose their main causes based on their strategy. So there is lobbying work to be done, knocking on doors and ensuring that our cause is embraced by as many organizations as possible. When it comes philanthropy, companies are more organized now. “

M.-A.N .: “There is still room to raise large sums of money through our networks, as we saw with the Ice Bucket Challenge or crowdfunding campaigns. Galas will always exist. However, more and more, companies want to take part in events that promote team building or physical activity. For example, they will be more inclined to let their employees participate in an event like the Urban Duathlon, and match the amount of money raised.

Of course, you need to be creative, but it’s important to avoid fads. The business community is thirsty for opportunities. They want special events that allow them to accomplish something, network, get closer to their clients or donors. The challenge is to find a lasting recipe that will be easy to adjust in time. “

The cause

“After they were born, both my children were hospitalized for health problems,” says Kasandra Côté. So I had the chance to witness little miracles, but I also saw the daily challenges of several parents living with sick children. From then on, I couldn’t fathom not getting involved. It became my cause. If I choose to devote one evening a week away from my healthy children, I do it for all the parents who don’t have that luxury.” Kassandra has been involved in the CHU Sainte-Justine Young Leaders Circle for four years, and her friend Marc-André Nantais, whom she met through Young Canadians in Finance, recently joined her.

About the author

Mélissa Proulx

About Mélissa Proulx

Editor

Mélissa Proulx is a journalist, news contributor, and copywriter. Passion and creativity have been driving her to create rich and diverse journalistic content since 2002.

La relève amasse et score!

Séries: Questions & réponses

30 mai 2019

Que deviendraient les fondations et les organismes de bienfaisance sans le soutien indéfectible du milieu des affaires qui est, tout comme le reste de la population, vieillissant? Heureusement, la jeune génération répond « présente!» et trouve des façons créatives d’amasser des fonds. Rencontre avec les coprésidents du Duathlon urbain de la Fondation CHU Sainte-Justine qui investissent temps, sueur et argent dans leur cause!

Joints au téléphone, Me Kasandra Côté, directrice principale en fiscalité chez KPMG et Marc-André Nantais, gestionnaire associé de portefeuille chez Jarilowsky Fraser Limited, sont fébriles. Dans moins de 24 heures, ils se lèveront aux aurores pour organiser et participer à la neuvième édition du Duathlon urbain au profit du Centre d’excellence en néonatalogie du CHU Sainte-Justine. Un événement qu’ils organisent depuis des mois.

Selon vous, les jeunes leaders ont-ils la responsabilité de s’investir auprès des fondations et organismes de bienfaisance (OB)?

Kasandra Côté: «Non seulement ils doivent le faire, mais c’est un impératif pour la survie des organisations et c’est dans leur intérêt! En assurant la coprésidence, Marc-André et moi vivons une expérience de leadership exceptionnelle que l’on pourra transposer dans nos vies professionnelles. Sans compter que ça fait du bien!»

Marc-André Nantais: «D’autant plus que la fourchette de revenus des gouvernements liés aux travailleurs actifs va baisser au cours des 20 prochaines années. Conséquemment, la pointe de tarte d’aide financière qui allait aux organismes va être plus petite. Les besoins, eux, iront en augmentant. L’aide doit donc venir des groupes privés. Si les jeunes générations de leaders ne veulent pas voir leurs taxes augmenter, ils doivent redonner, s’impliquer dans les collectes de fonds et faire une différence dans leurs communautés.»

DanieleHenkel.tv

Les jeunes générations sont-elles suffisamment mobilisées?

K.C.: « Marc-André et moi sommes entourés de jeunes leaders qui ont du chien, qui s’investissent corps et âme dans différentes organisations. C’est impressionnant!»

M.-A.N.: «Les jeunes générations veulent être entendues. Elles ont compris qu’elles devaient agir pour faire changer les choses, notamment en éducation et en environnement. Elles s’engagent peut-être moins politiquement, mais elles trouvent d’autres moyens de s’impliquer. Il faut que les organismes se montrent agiles pour suivre leur cadence et s’adapter notamment aux Millénariaux. Ma génération de leaders doit réussir à les mobiliser, car ce sont eux qui seront dans nos souliers dans 10 ans.»

Kasandra Côté (en bas à droite) pose en compagnie des équipes KPMG qui ont participé au Duathlon en 2018.

Devez-vous vous montrer créatifs pour amasser les sommes nécessaires année après année et pour créer des événements toujours plus attrayants?

K.C.: «Les règles du jeu ont changé. Avant, tout le monde appelait tout le monde pour amasser des fonds. Aujourd’hui, les entreprises choisissent leurs causes principales en fonction de leur orientation stratégique. Il y a donc du travail de lobbying à faire pour cogner aux portes et s’assurer que notre cause soit embrassée par le plus grand nombre d’organisations possibles. Les entreprises sont de plus en plus organisées quant à leur philanthropie.

M.-A.N.: «Il y a encore moyen d’amasser d’importantes sommes dans nos réseaux, comme on l’a vu avec le Défi du seau d’eau glacée (Ice Bucket Challenge) ou avec les campagnes de sociofinancement. De grands bals, il en aura toujours. Or, de plus en plus, les organisations souhaitent prendre part à des événements orientés vers le team building ou l’activité physique. Elles seront par exemple plus enclines à libérer leurs employés pour qu’ils participent à un événement comme le Duathlon urbain et égaler les sommes amassées.

Bien sûr, il faut se montrer créatifs, mais aussi résister aux effets de mode, assure Marc-André Nantais. La communauté d’affaires est assoiffée d’expériences. Elle veut des événements spéciaux qui lui permettent d’accomplir quelque chose, de réseauter, de se rapprocher de ses clients ou donateurs. Le défi, c’est de trouver une recette qui va durer et s’adapter dans le temps.»

La cause

«Après leur naissance, mes deux enfants ont dû être hospitalisés pour des pépins de santé, explique Kasandra Côté. J’ai alors été témoin de petits miracles, mais aussi des défis quotidiens de plusieurs parents vivants avec un enfant malade. Dès lors, je ne pouvais plus vivre sans m’impliquer. C’est devenu ma cause. Si je fais le choix de consacrer une soirée par semaine loin de mes enfants en santé, c’est pour tous ces parents qui n’ont pas cette chance.» Impliquée dans le Cercle des jeunes leaders du CHU Sainte-Justine depuis quatre ans, Kasandra a récemment entraîné dans l’aventure son ami Marc-André Nantais qu’elle avait rencontré à travers l’association Jeunes Canadiens en Finance.

À propos de l'auteur(e)

Mélissa Proulx

À propos de Mélissa Proulx

Éditrice

Mélissa Proulx est une journaliste, chroniqueuse et rédactrice. Elle se consacre avec passion et créativité à l’élaboration de contenus journalistiques riches et variés depuis 2002.